Best Blues/Folk Song of 2011

Happy 2012, everyone! I was hoping to be done with this before the new year, but this is just going to have to be totally acceptable. Whatever. Continuing with Dervis’s Awesome Music Nominee Awards!
This is a category that I’ve been very happy to see gaining some more mainstream recognition as of the past year. Blues and Folk is one of my favorite genres, and I actually had a very difficult time deciding on JUST five songs for this category. The nominees for best Blues/Folk song of 2011 are…
The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow

I fist found this band on VH1, and was simply blown away with the dark and haunting simplicity of their music.

The Decemberists – This is Why We Fight

I discovered the Decemberists with their latest album, which left me to wonder why I haven’t heard of them before. “This is Why We Fight” was my favorite song off of The King is Dead.

Feist – How Come You Never Go There?

I’ve been a fan of Feist for awhile, and I was ecstatic to see her return from her ipod fame to deliver yet another solid album.

G-Love and Special Sauce – Fixin’ to Die

I discovered this band with their 2011 release, and was blown away with their ability to mix genres, and deliver a truly original sound.

Keb’ Mo –The Whole Enchilada

The Blues legend delivered his 8th studio album with an updated sound. In my opinion, it worked, and showcased his amazing talent in a new light, with The Whole Enchilada being a worthy lead single.

And there you have it. Five truly talented artists who, in my opinion, don’t see the recognition they deserve. And the D.A.M.N. Award goes to….
..
..
The Decemberists – This is Why We Fight!
Leave a Reply

