Matt Kearney – Ships in the Night

Artist; Mat Kearney
Song; Ships in the Night
Genre; Indie, Pop, Alternative
Date; Aug 19, 2011
Favorite Lyric; Like ships in the night,/ You keep passing me by,/ Just wasting time,
Trying to prove who’s right,/ And if it all goes crashing into the sea, Its just you and me, Trying to find the light”

My new favorite way to find music is to simply think of something that would be a cool song title. I’ll throw something random into the Zune search bar (iTunes for the rest of the world), and see what song titles come up. Then I’ll pick one randomly. Sometimes, it yields surprising results! When I decided to see what would come up if I typed in “In the Night Sky,” I stumbled onto this little treasure by Mat Kearney, called “Ships in the Night.” Most people are still riding high on “Hey Mama,” but I haven’t really been able to get into that song. However, “Ships in the Night” is an excellent track that definitely deserves to be Mat’s second single.

The song has and great sound that’s both catchy and captivatingly emotional. A tender piano accented by acoustic guitar riffs create a lovely melody, while the driving beat simply begs you to clap along. Its a refreshingly light sound, but the lyrics give the song a sensitive darkside. In this song, Mat sings of the loneliness felt in a strained relationship, using a slew of metaphors and imagery that’s simply genius. His style of sing/rapping the verses is interesting, but his voice really makes the chorus come alive.

In all, this is an excellent track that deserves to be heard. It easily surpasses many other songs on the radio today by more mainstream artists. Personally, I believe that “Ships in the Night” is far superior to “Hey Mama,” and I’m anxiously awaiting the day I hear Mat announce this song as his followup single. Honestly…this was one of the best random finds I’ve ever stumbled upon, and I’m really grateful to have discovered Mat Kearney’s music in such a way!

One response to “Matt Kearney – Ships in the Night

Leave a Reply

