Valentine’s Day Special – Top 25 Anti-Love Songs


Happy Halmark appreciation day everyone! Haha! Today is indeed Valentines Day, which is a day best spent in the company of that cherished loved one. It really is a beautiful thing….if you happen to be in love. Which I am not.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those bitter singles who hates anyone that’s in love. Good for them, but I’m perfectly content being on my own. Regardless, I’ve decided that because it is a special day, I will do something special! Rather than give a verdict, I’ll be counting down my favorite ANTI-LOVE SONGS!!
Break ups, cheaters, unrequited love, loneliness? I find that the best songs are about the bitter side of love. I couldn’t pick just 10, so here are my top 25 songs for the Valentine Scrooge.

#25
Leona Lewis – I Got You
This is such a beautiful song, that I almost don’t even consider it an anti-love song. With lyrics about being there for each other even after heartbreak, this is the ultimate “lets just be friends” song.

#24
Kris Allen – The Truth

Sometimes honesty isn’t easy. This song is about not admitting it when you both know its over. Beautiful song.

#23
Van Halen – Ain’t Talking Bout Love

Sometimes you just don’t wanna talk about love; you just want to rock out. Hence, this song.

#22
Black Eyed Peas – Shut Up

After awhile, when you can’t make it work, the only thing left to say is “shut up.”

#21
Lady Gaga – Bad Romance

As if the title doesn’t give it away.

#20
Carrie Underwood – Flat On The Floor
I like this song much more than “Before He Cheats,” and it has that same message of being angry at a scorned lover.

#19
The Killers – Mr. Brightside
I love a break up song that isn’t a slow and sappy ballad. This song can get anyone headbanging while thinking of that cheating girlfriend.

#18
Rihanna – Fire Bomb

This is one of her darker songs, obviously written about her abusive relationship with Chris Brown. I wasn’t a fan of the album’s direction, but this song is an exception. Deeply sincere and creative lyrics, hard rocking guitars, and Rihanna’s unique vocals give this song a mesmerizing quality.

#17
Razorlight – Who Needs Love

Perfect song for the happily single. Who needs love? Not I.

#16
Evanescence – Call Me When Your Sober

Amy wrote this song after her relationship with Seether’s front man deteriorated, and she was not a happy camper. This hard rock track just makes you want to scream at the person who messed with you.

#15
Reik – Noviembre Sin Ti (November Without You)
This is one of the sadder break up songs on my list, and even though this song is in Spanish, it has some of the most heart melting lyrics I’ve ever heard.

#14
All American Rejects – Gives You Hell
The best way to tell a scorned lover to get over themselves? Let them see you living like a rock star.

#13
Trapt – Whos Going Home with You Tonight?
That little tramp….

#12
2NE1 – Go Away
This fun dance track has powerful lyrics, and all of the emotion of a sappy ballad. Who needs ballads anyway?

#11
Florence and The Machine – Kiss With a Fist
Nothing says I love you like domestic violence.

#10
Jay-Z – 99 Problems

I got 99 problems, but a chick ain’t one. That’s a message I can get behind.

#09
Little Big Town – Good As Gone

There comes a point when the straw breaks the camel’s back. This that song you play when you finally say “enough is enough.”

#08
Bon Jovi – You Give Love A Bad Name
Probably the epitome of break up songs.

#07
30 Seconds to Mars – Night of The Hunter
“Honest to god, I’ll break you heart, tear you to pieces and rip you apart.” Hey, at least their honest!

#06
Sara Bariellis – Gravity

This song brings tears to my eyes. Innocent, sincere, and truly heartbreaking. There comes a time when you realize that being in a relationship is bringing you down, ad you just need to let it go.

#05
Radiohead – Just

Did you ever have that friend that was in a destructive relationship, and everyone knows it except that person? Yeah…this is that song.

#04
Cee-Lo Green – The song otherwise known as “Forget You”

I think the title says it all.

#03
Gummy – There Is No Love

This is one of the most depressing songs ever. Gummy’s powerful vocals evoke pain and heart break, and lyrics like “all love is a lie” don’t offer much hope.

#02
James Morrison – Broken Strings (ft Nelly Furtado)

Maybe it’s the beautiful combination of James and Nelly Furtado’s vocals? Maybe it’s the brutally honest lyrics? Either way, this is the song that’s on everyone’s mind as they realize that their love is coming to an end. Simply beautiful.

#01
Elvis Costello/Storm Large – I Want You
Rip my heart out why don’t you? Unrequited love is always the worst type of heart break, and this song is probably the saddest I’ve ever heard. Powerful lyrics, dark and pain-tinged vocals, and brilliant arranging make this my #1 anti-valentines day song, regardless of the version. Elvis’s original is incredible, and Storm’s cover is equally stunning.

Leave a Reply

