Jessie J – Do It Like A Dude, Price Tag

Today, as I was driving home from school while listening to the radio, the DJ announced that later, he would be playing a new song from a British artist called Jessie J. I would have kept listening, but he then proceeded to play that horrible new Ke$ha song. However, once I got home, my curiosity got the better of me. After reading Jessie’s wiki page, I was impressed with her resume. She’s written songs from some huge artists, worked with big name producers, and has even claimed a few awards in her relatively young career. After learning that we weren’t messing around with some flash in the pan, I decided to give her a listen. At first, I listened to her UK hit, “Do It Like A Dude,” but then found out that her US debut will be “Price Tag.” Here’s a double verdict of Jessie’s two songs.

Do It Like A Dude;

The Good;
• I’m a fan of the UK grime scene, so I really did like the hard, gritty, in your face sound this song has.
• Jessie has a really unique voice, with unique phrasing, and is pretty much unique in general. The best part? She isn’t unique in that overly contrived Ke$ha, Katy Perry, wannabe Lady Gaga type of way. Jessie J is Jessie J.
• This is a great dance floor alternative to the techno-pop slut-core music that’s dominating the radio right now.

The Bad;
• Autotone, autotone, and more autotone. Granted, she uses considerably less than many other pop acts, but still more than I would like. Her voice is great, and it doesn’t deserve to be covered up.
• This song seems unnecessarily explicit. Do you really need to be dropping F-bombs, Jessie?
• This song sounds like a rejected Rhianna track….most likely because it is. Jessie wrote this song for Rihanna, but decided that she wanted it instead. I wasn’t a fan of Rihanna’s new sound, so I can’t say that I’m a fan of this.

The Verdict; 2/5
Ok, so for my first Jessie J track, I just didn’t dig it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s unique, catchy, and danceable, but so are a lot of other songs on the radio right now. This song sounds tailor made for Rhianna, but honestly, half the songs on her last two albums are better than this song. This song isn’t terrible, but it’s not going to be on my Zune anytime soon.

So, I didn’t like Jessie J’s debut track, but I did like it enough to give her a second listen. Her next single is the B.o.B. collaboration, “Price Tag.” Here are my thoughts on her US debut…

Price Tag;

The Good;
• This song has much more upbeat, reggae-pop sound that I think shows more of Jessie’s colors than the previous single.
• She disses the music industry’s emphasis on sex and money, which made me just go “Hell yeah!”
• On this single, she shows off the dynamics of her vocals while still maintaining that real-world ferocity of the previous song.
• This song has a killer acoustic version that’s, in my opinion anyway, better than the studio version.
• It’s much catchier than most of the songs on the radio today, and twice as fun as well!
• B.o.B. contributes a great rap that helps build the song.

The Bad;
• “Price Tag” can get a bit repetitive with all of the “Money, money, money”s flying around.
• There’s still some autotone in this song. Its not enough to be a real concern, but with a voice this good, Jessie doesn’t need it.

The Verdict; 4/5
While I didn’t like “Do it like Rhianna,” I do love this upbeat number than Jessie has created for us. It’s a definite feel good track, and is a great alternative to the overly autotoned club tracks that we can’t get enough of today. With a powerful message, a unique sound, and a little help from B.o.B., Jessie is all set to take down the US music industry!

Leave a Reply

