Jay Sean – 2012

I really don’t want it to seem like I’m only reviewing songs that I like. Granted, I don’t normally go looking for songs that I don’t like. In fact, I usually choose to ignore crappy music all together. However, every now and then, I hear something that I don’t like, and have a profound idea as to why its so sucktacular. That’s why I’m reviewing Jay Sean’s new song.

Now, don’t get me wrong, Jay Sean’s alright. In my opinion, he is probably the most distinguishable voice out of the current cast of pop/rnb male singers that seem to be popular these days…which is kind of sad. Lord knows that I can’t tell Iyaz, Jason Derulo, Tiao Cruz, and Sean Kingston from one another…however, Jay’s voice is smooth, refreshing, and identifiable. His older material was pretty good, especially the stuff he released back when he had a terrible haircut and the record label didn’t require him to work out 19 hours a day. “Down” was a great debut song for the States…ya know, until the radio decided to play it every god damn 20 seconds.

With 2012, I’m beginning to notice a pattern with Jay’s music. Its all the same. This song is the same mid-tempo pop number that both “Down” and “Do You Remember” were. Its upbeat, but not upbeat enough to really get into. Sure, I can bob my head and maybe sway to it…”grooving” is what you could loosely call it, but I can’t fully get into it. There will be no fist pumping, no grinding, and no head banging on the dance floor with this song! When the DJ puts it on, it’s just a time to catch my breath in between Lady Gaga and Flo Ryda. Both of his last singles were the exact same way…and quite frankly, I’m sick of it. Give me a ballad, Jay! Give me something that’s going to make we want to get out on the floor! Give me something, anything to work with! These plane-jane, bland as vanilla pop songs are getting old!

Also, I have to wonder about the song’s lyrical content. Have you seen the movie 2012? It was awful! You know what else was awful? The movie’s theme song (thank you Adam Lambert.) A mid-tempo pop song based on the movie just spells disaster. Plus, I don’t know if you noticed, Jay, but Usher took the same concept and did it 10 times better with “Dj Got Us Falling In Love.” Take notes Jay. I can dance to Usher’s music! It has a beat!

Seriously, the best part of the song is the cameo from Nicki Minaj, who lends her “hot as shit without even trying” rap skills. For that reason, the song gets an automatic 4. Combined with Jay’s limited vocals, a beat I can’t really do anything with, and the “creativity” of the lyrics, this song gets an overall score of 4, out of 10.

Verdict; Bad.
Bland, and repetitive, Jay Sean needs to show another side of his music before he fades into the background. Nicki Minaj’s rap is only saving grace this song has.

One response to “Jay Sean – 2012

  1. I agree I have a song called 2012 that I presented to Lenny S. Of Def Jam .Ironic. One year later I hear this crap on the airwaves… They stole my song concept.. Period.. Lost Dogg… I'm pissed but here I am…and the shit done hit the fan..

Leave a Reply

