Caro Emerald – That Man


Every now and then, I’ll ask a friend to tell me a song that I’ve never heard of. Not a song that I’ll like, or even a song that they like…just something I’ve never heard of before. A friend from Belgium let me know about a Dutch artist known as Caro Emerald. Europeans always do seem to know the best music, so I decided to give her a listen. Her latest single is “That Man,” and features a contemporary Jazz-pop sound. As a fan of jazz, I decided to cast my judgment upon this new artist! Here’s my verdict of Miss Emerald’s song.

The Good;

  • 10 seconds into the song, and I had to wonder what year it was made. Everything about the song sounds like it should have been made in the 1920’s, and the MV is styled to match the theme perfectly.
  • Caro’s voice is simply decadent. With a smoothe and sultry, yet powerful jazz voice, she could easily have fit in with the great jazz voices of the roaring 20’s.
  • Lately, there’s been a bit of a throwback movement in the music scene with people like Duffy, Amy Winehouse, and Michael Buble becoming wildly popular. I honestly don’ think that any of them have managed to capture the essence of the time period in the way that Caro Emerald has.
  • This song is quite the earworm! It’s catchy and upbeat sound will easily get stuck in your head for days…and honestly, it’s a pleasure!

The Bad;

  • This song is upbeat and fun, but without a solid beat, people may not find it easy to dance to.
  • Her song may be a little bit too “Throwback” for contemporary audiences to really “get.”

The Verdict; 4/5
No, not good, but excellent! As you can see, I was grasping at straws to find something bad to say, and what little I could simply boils down to the song being too unique to be “pop.” That isn’t bad at all! “That Man” is a refreshing, contemporary take on a classic jazz sound, and Caro Emerald bridges time with effortless ease. Duffy, Michael, Adele, Amy…look out for Caro Emerald!

Leave a Reply

